oikos Case Writing Competition 2019: Get to know the winners

We are proud to announce the winners of the oikos Case Writing Competition. We would like to thank all the participants for their outstanding case submissions and congratulate the winners.

The winning cases are published online in our oikos free case collection and are available for faculty members and students interested in organizing a case competition at their local universities.

The first prize was awarded to Prof. Madeleine Pullman, Prof. Jacen Greene, Prof. Wanying Shi, and Stephen Kaplan of Portland State University, USA, for the case “B-Line Sustainable Urban Delivery: Can Last-Mile Bicycle Delivery Survive The E-Commerce Minefield?”.

The second prize went to Chiara De Bernardi, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart – Milano, Italy, and Prof. Daniel Arenas Vives, ESADE Business School, Spain, for their work on “Authenticitys: who said unicorns are legendary?”

The third prize was awarded to Indu Perepu, ICFAI Business School, India, for the case “Sistema Biobolsa: Addressing Challenges of Climate Change, Sustainable Agriculture and Waste Management in Mexico.”

We also would like to take the opportunity and thank our outstanding Case Faculty Jury: Gabriel Berger, Universidad de San Andrés, Argentina; Timo Busch, University of Hamburg, Germany; Angelo A. Camillo, Sonoma State University, United States; Alfred Vernis Domènech, ESADE, Spain; Jörg Hofstetter, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland; Ewald Kibler, Aalto University, Finland; Martin Kupp, ESCP Europe, France; Saurabh Lall, University of Oregon, United States; Moritz Loock, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland; Ioannis Oikonomou, University of Reading, United Kingdom; Carlos Romero Uscanga, Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education, Mexico.

Our thank you also goes to the Case Students Jury, who revealed the winners amongst 10 finalists: Nurlan Jahangirli, oikos Baku alumnus, University of Hamburg; Hugo Leung, oikos Hong Kong, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology;  Amar Pandey, oikos Lille, EDHEC Business School; Stefano Ramelli, former oikos PhD fellow, University of Zurich; Magdalena Rusch, oikos Graz, University of Graz.

Finally, we would like to thank Dominika Czyż for running the competition.

Learn more about our winners:

Prof. Madeleine PullmanProf. Madeleine Pullman1st prizePortland State University

Prof. Jacen GreeneProf. Jacen Greene1st prizePortland State University

Prof. Wanying ShiProf. Wanying Shi1st prizePortland State University

Stephen KaplanStephen Kaplan1st prizePortland State University

Chiara De BernardiChiara De Bernardi2nd prizeCatholic University of the Sacred Heart

Daniel ArenasDaniel Arenas2nd prizeESADE Business School - Universitat Ramon Llull

Indu PerepuIndu Perepu3rd prizeICFAI Business School

Author image

oikos International

posted November 7, 2019

This might be for you.