Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident


Winners of the 2018 oikos Case Writing Competition

We are proud to announce the winners of the 2018 oikos Case Writing Competition. We would like to thank all the participants for their outstanding case submissions and congratulate to the winners of the competition.

In the Sustainable Finance track, the first prize goes to Debapratim Purkayastha, ICFAI Business School Hyderabad, Trilochan Tripathy, XLRI, Jamshedpur, and Benudhar Sahu, ICFAI Business School (India). The first prize in the Social Entrepreneurship track is awarded to Syeda Maseeha Qumer and Geeta Singh from the ICFAI Business School Hyderabad (India). In the Corporate Sustainability track, the first prize goes to Syeda Maseeha Qumer and Debapratim Purkayastha from ICFAI Business School Hyderabad (India).

Extended abstracts of our winning and runner-up cases are published online in our oikos free case collection and will be also available at the Case Centre.

The list of all the the prizes and runners-up is below. Please, follow the links to view inspection copies of the winning and runner-up cases.

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2018 oikos Case Writing Competition!  


Winners of the 2018 Competition


Corporate Sustainability:

1st Prize: Eliminating Modern Slavery from Supply Chains: Can Nestlé Lead the Way?

By Syeda Maseeha Qumer & Debapratim Purkayastha, ICFAI Business School, Hyderabad, India

2nd Prize: Volkswagen’s Emissions Scandal: How Could it Happen?

By N. Craig Smith & Erin McCormick, INSEAD; France

3rd Prize: Candy Crush? Aligning Health, Business, and Pleasure in the Chocolate Industry

By Laura Heely & Pierre Chandon, INSEAD; France

Runner-up: ecostore – the Carbon CaptureTM Pak decision

By Michaela Balzarova & Pavel Castka, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Runner-up: Employee Diversity at High Beam Global: An Inclusive Approach

By Reshmi Manna, Richa Bajpai (ICFAI Business School-Gurgaon, India) and Ankit Singh (Pantaloons, India)

Social Entrepreneurship:

1st Prize: Jaipur Rugs –Empowering Communities at the Bottom of the Pyramid through Social Innovation

By Syeda Maseeha Qumer & Geeta Singh, ICFAI Business School, Hyderabad, India

2nd Prize: Preserve: Growing a Sustainable Consumer Goods Company

By Sinan Erzurumlu, Babson College, USA

Runner-up: Sustainability International’s Alliance with ConsenSys – Leveraging Technology for Social Impact

By Shwetha Kumari, Amity Research Centers, Bangalore, India

Runner-up: Babban Gona’s Agri-Franchising Model: Scaling up Challenges

By Manish Agarwal & D Satish, ICFAI Business School Hyderabad, India

Sustainable Finance:

1st Prize: Can Barry Callebaut Attract Sustainable Investment with its ‘Forever Chocolate’ Strategy?

By Debapratim Purkayastha (ICFAI Business School Hyderabad, India), Trilochan Tripathy (XLRI, Jamshedpur, India) and Benudhar Sahu (ICFAI Business School Hyderabad, India)

2nd Prize: Saudi Aramco

By Alok Kavthankar & Indu Perepu,  ICFAI Business School Hyderabad, India

3rd Prize: Regulations for a Sustainable Finance Sector

By Gaya Branderhors, Harvard University, Extension School, USA

We want to thank our outstanding Academic Reviewers for the 2018 oikos Case Writing Competition, who come from top academic institutions all over the world. Alexander Wagner, University of Zurich (Switzerland); Angelo Camilo, IGI Global (U.S.A.); Anil Gupta, IIMA (India); Barbara Porco, Fordham University (U.S.A.); Carlos Romero-Uscanga, EGADE (Mexico); Carlos Vargas, University of Zurich (Switzerland); Daniel Tulloch, University of Oxford (U.K.); Delphine Gibassier, Toulouse Business School (France); Ewald Kibler, Aalto University (Finland); Gabriel Berger, Universidad de San Andrés (Argentina); Ioannis Oikonomou, Henley Business School, (U.K.); Jennifer Clifford, University of Massachusetts Boston (U.S.A.); Joerg Hofstetter, KEDGE Business School (France); Madhukar Shukla, XLRI Jamshedpur (India); Martin Kupp, ESCP (France); Moritz Loock, University of St. Gallen (Switzerland); Nardia Haigh, University of Massachusetts Boston (U.S.A.); Raymond Paquin, Concordia University (Canada); Sebastien Pouget, University of Toulouse (France); Stefan Schaltegger, Leuphana University (Germany); Stefano Pogutz, Bocconi University (Italy); Tessa Hebb, Carleton University (Canada); Thomas Dyllick, University of St. Gallen (Switzerland); Timo Busch, University of Hamburg (Germany) and other leading faculty.

We also want to make an especial acknowledgment of our three Track Chairs, Dror Etzion from McGill University (Canada), Lars Hassel from the School of Business Umea (Sweden) and Thomas Dyllick from the University of St. Gallen, (Switzerland) who supported the organization and review of the 2018 oikos Case Writing Competition. And finally, we also want to recognize the important contribution of our program manager Carlos Vargas from the Institute of Banking and Finance at the University of Zurich (Switzerland) who made the 2017 and 2018 oikos Case Writing Competitions possible.